Providence Police to begin enforcement for “Do Not Block the Box” initiative
Providence, RI – As part of an effort to enhance mobility at potentially dangerous intersections, Providence Police will begin monitoring two intersections within the City to issue warnings to drivers if they are “Blocking the Box,” with enforcement slated to begin this week. Blocking the box occurs when a vehicle enters the middle of an intersection and is unable to exit, which can cause traffic to become congested, endanger other drivers, and block crosswalks and bike lanes. The “box” refers to the area that has a white pavement marking of a box with an “x” as indicated in the attached detail. To avoid blocking the box, drivers should wait to enter an intersection until they are certain they can make it all the way through. Providence is the first City in Rhode Island to enforce this initiative after its passage into state law.
Intersections selected for this initiative were due to “blocking” occurring regularly and because the layout of the intersection allowed for enforcement to be performed. All intersections will have signage and pavement markings so that drivers are aware that if they block the box, there will be a fine. The first violation is $100.00, the second is $250.00, the third and any subsequent violation is $500.00.
Police will begin monitoring two locations, Dave Gavitt Way/Broadway and Exchange Street/Memorial Boulevard. Violations will not be given out within the first two weeks of this initiative but officers will be warning drivers and reminding them of the upcoming enforcement. Blocking the box is always discouraged regardless of location and enforcement. The complete Rhode Island General Law can be found here.Download a Do Not Block Sign